- Respected Client
How long do I have to bring my claim?
Updated: Apr 27, 2022
This depends on the claim and the state. In Florida, most injuries like auto accidents, slip and fall, dog bite, and motorcycle accidents give you 4 years to file your claim. However in wrongful death actions -- no matter what how the victim is killed, the time is limited to 2 years. Medical Malpractice and other professional malpractice claims limit the time to two years. Boating accidents are more problematic and depend on whether the incident happened within State waters, the Atlantic Ocean or other navigable waters and even the type of vessel (such as a cruise ship that can limit the statute of limitations by contract).... and it is best to consult an attorney with your specific facts. Defective products cases may vary dependent upon the age of the product and the date the injury occurred..... and again it is best here to consult an attorney as soon as possible. In general it is good to consult an attorney regarding your specific facts because these statute of limitations periods vary from state to state and Florida is different from many states.